The doctors want to charge me £25 for their evidence, the reason being the work is private not NHS. The DWP could access the information they want for free, but the onus is on me to provide information they already have access to. I know a song about this: I’ve heard it before.

Similarly, I have heard the song I’m about to detail. Let’s do it Tickertapemind style.

  • There’s a knock on the door. I open it.
  • My neighbor from downstairs thrusts a piece of paper in my hand: “Do you know anything about this?”.
  • I scan the paper, shake my head and try to give it back.
  • He refuses to take it.
  • I ask him if he will take the paper from my hand.
  • His face contorts and he tells me to hang on a minute (preparing some kind of speech).
  • I throw the paper to the ground and tell him I won’t tolerate him coming to my door like this.
  • He stands outside my now closed door and verbally abuses me, “Fucking bitch” etc.
  • I tell my friend, who I happened to be on the phone with, “I have to go”.
  • I open the door and tell the man not to knock on my door again, ever. He thinks this is his opportunity to continue his tirade. I shout pointedly, “No. You listen to me: do not ever come to my door again”.
  • I come inside and call the police. While on the phone the police tell me my friend is also on the line.
  • An hour later an officer visits. At the end of their information gathering session, he tells me “not to rise to it”.
  • The officer knocks on the neighbour’s door; he does not answer.

Apparently, I am responsible for my neighbour’s behaviour. How about fuck off. How about not only is it understandable that I shout at this man, but it is an acceptable means of asserting a boundary invasion. How about, the man not come to my door at all. Since he lives on the floor below he has come out of his way to thrust paper at me.

How about, it doesn’t matter if I did or didn’t make a noise pollution complaint. How about, it’s not appropriate to ask me what he does for a living. Or question me about his day to day movements. Or ask me any question that would be better answered by the man who so rudely interrupted my telephone call.

How about people stop and think about why it is they believe his behaviour is somehow precipitated by mine. He had a number of choices to make and he chose to lose his temper and accuse and verbally abuse me. How about, he takes responsibility for his own actions, and does what ever he has been asked to do with out complaint. How about he stop projecting bullshit at me.

How about people stop victim blaming women.

I have the right to feel safe at home.

